Skip to main content

Local Lead Network

The Schools of Sanctuary Network is a largely grassroots movement, overseen by City of Sanctuary UK, but actively promoted and facilitated by a network of delivery partners based in local communities. Our local deliver partners (our ‘Local Leads’) include City of Sanctuary groups, local (education) authorities and some supporting partner organisations.

Local Leads are responsible for delivering the Schools of Sanctuary programme in their local area: supporting interested schools through the process, managing appraisal panels and engaging with the Schools of Sanctuary Team at City of Sanctuary UK. All the while, Local Leads support the Schools of Sanctuary network in their local area by upholding the City of Sanctuary UK vision of welcome and the City of Sanctuary UK values.

Local Leads are trained, supported and have access to a range of resources to help them in the delivery of the programme. They also gain access to a UK-wide network of people working with schools on sanctuary related themes with whom they can exchange updates and resources and share best practice.

Our Local Leads:

See our Local Lead map or the list below to see where our Local Leads are based in the UK. Please note in the map, those in purple are local City of Sanctuary groups, those in navy are local authorities and those in light blue are partner organisations.

Are you interested in supporting the Schools of Sanctuary network as a Local Lead in your local area?

Get in touch with us by emailing [email protected].


  • Barnsley
  • Belfast *waiting list
  • Birmingham
  • Bolton
  • Bradford
  • Brent
  • Brighton & Hove
  • Bristol
  • Bury
  • Calderdale
  • Cardiff
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Chester and West Cheshire
  • Coventry
  • Craven/Skipton
  • Denbighshire
  • Derby
  • Derry/Londonderry *waiting list
  • Devon
  • Dover & Deal
  • Durham County


  • Harrogate District
  • Hay, Brecon & Talgarth
  • Herefordshire
  • Kirklees
  • Knowsley
  • Lancashire
  • Leicester
  • Lewisham
  • Liverpool
  • Londonderry/Derry *waiting list
  • Merton
  • Newcastle
  • Norfolk
  • North Lincs/ Scunthorpe
  • North Tyneside
  • Northumberland
  • Nottingham


  • Pembrokeshire
  • Plymouth
  • Salford
  • Shropshire
  • Southampton
  • Stockport
  • Suffolk
  • Swansea
  • Swindon
  • Tees Valley
  • Vale of Glamorgan
  • Wandsworth
  • Winchester
  • Wirral
  • Wolverhampton
  • York